top of page
Search

Out Owling

I am going to keep this post short as I plan on writing a post while I am in Canmore.


This morning I woke up at 5:30am and set out to go look for Great Gery Owls. At a quarter to 8, I spotted a GGOW perched atop a fence post. I got out of the car and realized that the owl was hunting down the fence line, I set up a little way down from the beautiful bird. And with a little patience and some focus, I was able to capture some amazing shots. After about an hour, I decided that I should let the owl hunt in peace.


I continued to drive around seeing 1 Merlin, 3 Red-tailed Hawks, 3 Rough-legged Hawks, and 2 Northern Harriers.





Great Grey Owl.










Merlin. This small falcon prefers to hunt insects, mice, and small birds.


Porcupine. It is always a delight to spot a porcupine in the early morning light.





40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page